The Windows Of The World Are Covered With Rain…

If you haven’t seen The Rain People, an early Francis Ford Coppola film from 1969, I highly recommend it. It has one of my favorite actresses in it, Shirley Knight.

She also played great supporting roles in Richard Lester’s awesome films Petulia (1968) and Juggernaut (1974). Below are trailers for both films. The Petulia trailer is particularly misleading, while the Juggernaut trailer is true to the nature of the film; it’s a disaster movie from the 1970s about bombs on a cruise ship, with an all-star international cast (Omar Sharif!), but it’s a much better film than contemporaries The Poseidon Adventure or The Towering Inferno (I’m not saying these are bad films). Both of those movies scared the hell out of me growing up. 

Now, Shirley Knight plays somebody’s mother on Desperate Housewives

I’ve always had a penchant for the Burt Bacharach/Hal David song “The Windows Of The World.”  Maybe because behind all the corny lyrics about rain being angel tears and such, this is really an anti-draft, anti-war song. 

The windows of the world are covered with rain,
When will those black skies turn to blue?
Ev’rybody knows when boys grow into men
They start to wonder when their country will call.
Let the sun shine through.

The windows of the world are covered with rain,
What is the whole world coming to?
Ev’rybody knows when men can not be friends
Their quarrel often ends where some have to die.
Let the sun shine through.

There’s just something in the tone of the song that is truly heartfelt and sad. Isaac Hayes prefaces the song with this bleak oulook on his Live At The Sahara Tahoe double-album: “Listen to the lyrics. If the world had windows, it would be rather polluted, it’d be cluttered, it probably would be drenched with tears from the sky.”

Dionne’s is the first and definitive version.

The Windows Of The World- Dionne Warwick

I wish I could have seen an Isaac Hayes live show in the 1970s.

The Windows Of The World (live)- Isaac Hayes

You know it’s a good song if Scott Walker covered it. 

The Windows Of The World- Scott Walker

The Anita Kerr Singers version is amazing. She sang, produced, and arranged. Totally innovative.

The Windows Of The World- Anita Kerr Singers

I had the luck of eating at The Windows of the World, the restaurant that was in the North Tower of the World Trade Center, during my first visit to NYC when I was a teenager. This was rather exciting. I felt very sophisticated. I think my parents let me order a glass of wine.

The view, without rain:

5 responses to “The Windows Of The World Are Covered With Rain…

  1. Marvelous blog, Gentlebear! Fascinating musings and great music. Thanks for stopping by my place, and thanks for the link. I’ll drop you in the links there this weeek. Rock on!

  2. I’ve never been a big fan of Bacharach, but in recent months I’m beginning to think I might be able to see some of the “there” there. I’ve certainly been listening to a lot of his stuff and giving him a chance, so this is great wood for the fire. Thanks! W.

  3. Pingback: 2001-2010: ¿La Peor Década De La Música Pop? (Primera Parte) | CRASHBOOMBANG

  4. Anita Kerr … ahhhhh! Her’s is the version that always plays first in my head whenever Bacharach’s “Windows of the World” is mentioned. It’s one of those incomparable voices and arrangements that freeze time for me. Thanks for the memories!

    Great blog site!!!!

  5. I was there. ~Miss Nimbus Lee

Leave a Reply

