Hello It’s Me

If you had met me ten years ago, and I had taken a shine to you, you would have received a mix tape from me with three versions of the Todd Rundgren song “Hello It’s Me.” The first version I actually remember hearing was The Isley Brothers’ on the radio in New Orleans, and I was blown away by the lyrics. It’s a lets-not-breakup-song, but it’s already too late. It’s hard to say who’s breaking/broke up with who. I finally figured out who sang it (this is way before regular internet use for me- I don’t even think I had an e-mail account) and found The Isleys’ 1974 record, Live It Up!. 

Hello It’s Me-Isley Brothers

Those interested in finding out the astrological signs of each Isley need only peruse the back cover of Live It Up!.

Later on, I heard Todd’s hit version off the 1972 album Something/Anything?, and realized he was the writer. How I had escaped this version on “rock of the 70s and 80s” radio for so long, I’ll never know.

Hello It’s Me-Todd Rundgren

After that, I found the earlier version of the song Rundgren had recorded with his Philadelphia band he had begun as a teenager, Nazz. This version is my favorite. I can’t tell you how many times I played this song for people in my sun-drenched living room, drinking Coors Light, smoking joints, drawing. Re: Coors Light,  I was on a budget then- but now I’ve developed a taste for it! 

Look how much fun these people are having drinking Coors Light!

Hello It’s Me-Nazz

Here’s Todd performing “Hello It’s Me” on the 1973 television show “Midnight Special,” introduced by The Four Tops. Amazing make-up. 

Lastly, another Todd Rundgren song off his bizarre album A Wizard, A True Star reminiscent of “Hello It’s Me” in theme. “I Don’t Want to Tie You Down” is about the difficult balance between loving and possessing the object of your affection. The lyrics are rather creepy, but also sweet. I love the cover art. 

I Don’t Want to Tie You Down

Speaking of possessive love, here’s a video review of the 1981 Andrzej Zulawski film Possession that some ex-film student posted on YouTube. It’s actually pretty good. I feel like this guy talks about movies like I talk about music, and I wasn’t surprised to read in his profile that he thinks he’s crazy, and suffers from autism. I’m beginning to think that everybody I know is slightly autistic. Or artistic. 

I love watching Isabelle Adjani, one of my favorite actresses ever. This movie about obsessive love freaked me out for a few days after I watched it.  

Isabelle Adjani is so good at playing mentally-unstable. Here she is in the trailer for her first major film, at the tender age of 20, playing Victor Hugo’s daughter in The Story of Adele H., directed by Francois Truffaut. Unfortunately, the trailer is dubbed.

3 responses to “Hello It’s Me

  1. It took a while for that Isley Bros. version to get going, but it’s pretty good. Nowhere near as good as Rundgren’s (the Something/Anything version), but not bad!

    I think it’s cool how Rundgren played all the instruments on his version.

  2. Just happened to click on the Something/Anything? tag on an entry I just did and found this to be the only other applicable tag. Glad I found it, too. Great stuff here, and that Nazz version is the cut.

    Checked out some of your other posts. I’m digging your space here. Right up my alley.

  3. Hey Warren, thanks for the kind words. Your blog made me laugh. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

