I Do Believe That You Are Me

hedgedonna1

Hedge Capers and Donna Carson were a couple who released six records in the 60s and 70s, first as Hedge & Donna, and later as Capers & Carson. It’s hard to find out much behind them except they went to Whittier College together, the alma mater of Richard Nixon, our only Quaker president (the college was founded by the Religious Society of Friends, but is no longer affiliated with the Quakers).  I don’t know if Hedge & Donna were mystics in the tradition of the Quakers, but their music does possess a certain element of transcendence, as in their song “Jamie” from the album All The Friendly Colours. 


friendlycolours

I have probably seen their records many times and skipped over them in my record-digging days, which is my loss. I first heard “Jamie” on the blog I’ll Keep It With Mine, which is consistently a fascinating read out of the Pacific Northwest. I’ve finally added it to my links. 

I’ve been obsessed with this song lately, only to discover I’ve had the song on vinyl for a good ten years. It’s included on the compilation The New Spirit of Capitol, a Capitol Records compilation from 1969. Thanks to whomever started a facebook fan page and scanned the gatefold of the album. 

hd1

hd2

As I said, it’s really hard to find out anything about these guys, except by trolling internet forums in which someone writes they went to school with them, or saw them play at The Troubadour in West Hollywood, or that Hedge is a trance therapist. Things of which I’m sure:  they’re no longer together, they opened for Nina Simone once, Hedge acted for a bit, most famously in The Legend of Hillbilly John (1974). The synopsis according to the IMDB: A wandering ballad singer in the Appalachians meets an ugly bird-type creature, is transported back in time, and finds himself involved in the Devil’s work. Okay. 

 

legend_of_hillbilly_john

Anyway, here’s the song, which I take to be a tender address to a dying mother from her children. 

Jamie- Hedge & Donna

7 responses to “I Do Believe That You Are Me

  1. Hi there!
    I’m the one who posted the “New Spirit of Capitol” cover in the facebook page I started…
    A short time time ago I’ve been lucky to get in contact with Hedge himself, He’s a very nice guy and he’s got some great stories…
    I did a myspace site for them too, I hope to be including whatever interesting things I may be getting from him…
    For the moment You can listen to Hedge and Donna 2 and read his comments on each track…

  2. Hey Roger,

    I’m impressed with your detective work! Well done. Sounds like you might have a short documentary on your hands…

  3. Hey I was missing that Hilbilly John poster!!…
    I’ll take that in exchange for the “New Spirit” lp cover and the other pictures!!…
    I think Hedge & Donna is a beautiful story of the late sixties/early seventies… I’ll do my best to get more info…

    Gentlebear! Are you the guy in the picture with that beer bottle?!!…

    Take care!
    Roger

  4. Fantastic song! Inspired me to track down the LP, which isn’t bad. Thanks. W.

  5. facebook page?

  6. ‘The Legend of Hillbilly John’ is an excellent film, and the Manly Wade Wellman stories of which it is based on are some of the most horribly underrated yet beautiful pieces of fantasy literature I have ever read.

Leave a Reply

