In The Bed

Vladimir Nabokov worked in bed.

Vladimir Nabokov writing in bed

 

My bed is more comfortable than my desk. I sleep at night with books and mail and magazines beside me, because my lover is far away. Sometimes I have a whiskey on the rocks sitting on my bed, reading and writing.  It sounds depressing, but it isn’t. It’s kind of my center of operations. But I must say, I go to work and go out. Really, I don’t  get enough time there. This is not a Brian Wilson lost- years-in-bed situation.

I’ve compiled some songs as a salute to the bed. It’s more than just a place to sleep or horse around. It’s the new Round Table.

 

bed1

From All Things Must Pass. When I was a kid my brother used to ask me who my favorite Beatle was and I said Ringo. I mean, I was  just a kid, I think I liked the way it sounded. Anyway, it’s totally George now. Hands down, he was totally the most spiritual Beatle.

On The Bed- George Harrison

 

lee_hazelwood1

Love this one. It sucks waking up to realize you’re alone in the bed. “I run my hands down the cold, cold sheets on your side of the bed…”

The Bed- Lee Hazlewood

 

dusty-springfield-

Dusty, the other woman, repeats a phrase from one of her earlier hits:  “You don’t have to say you love me” -addressed to a married man. 

Breakfast In Bed- Dusty Springfield

 

ninas_main

Don’t smoke in bed. Drinking is okay.

Don’t Smoke In Bed (live)- Nina Simone

 

Fairfield-Parlour-From-Home-To-Home-406207

I slept on this album for a while. The whole thing is an ornate, rococo affair. Listen to the lyrics in this one.:

By your bedside I leave fruits of many colors

and the wines of many lands

and your company, I believe, is my pleasure.

On the beach of your mind I am sand…

By Your Bedside- Fairfield Parlour

 

6803161109

Here’s a late 1960s Dutch pop group who knew what it’s all about: drinking in bed.

Drinking In Bed- Rob Hoeke Rhythm & Blues Group


Here’s footage of John Lennon and Yoko, at their week-long Montreal bed-in in 1969, 40 years ago.

 

Cheers, from my bed to yours.

 


9 responses to “In The Bed

  1. Excellent post!

  2. hey bear,

    love this post. also you should check Georges Perec’s meditation on beds…in Species of Spaces… he tries to remember every bed he ever slept in…

    http://www.amazon.com/Species-Spaces-Pieces-Penguin-Classics/dp/0141442247/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1243793265&sr=8-1

    j.

  3. Fantastic. Beds rock, even when they’re not rocking.

    And great pun in the para about Fairfield Parlour.

  4. Thanks, I’m glad you’re reading closely!

  5. This was a great post. Will you do one on the tub next, Bear? ‘Breakfast in Bed’ is one of my favorite songs. It reminds me of eating bagels in bed after a night of drinking.

  6. Interesting song choices. I hope you saved Kinky Friedman’s “Get Your Biscuits in the Oven and Your Buns in the Bed” for a sequel post.

  7. Haven’t heard that one- I’ll check it out.

  8. Pingback: iPod Genius for Writer’s Block « A Writer's Day Blog

Leave a Reply

