An Afternoon Spent [Four Months Later]

I just found this draft for a posting that I wrote four months ago. Let’s say goodbye to summer, and listen to some good oldies.

I’ve been digitizing vinyl this afternoon, and here’s a selection of the goods. It’s been a nice  afternoon, in my sun-soaked apartment, drinking some leftover beers from a party and listening to some old favorites that used to make it on the mixtapes.

Possibly my favorite track is the Four Freshmen cut,  live from Purdue University in 1959:  My dreams are just like all my schemes, always ending in the sky.

And totally unrelated is the picture of the original Saltair, the Salt Lake amusement park which burned to the ground in 1925 an came back in different incarnations over the century. It was famously depicted in Carnival Of Souls, which I just recently watched and enjoyed.

A Foggy Day- Dave Brubeck & Paul Desmond
America- Bert Sommer
I Remember- Peggy Lee
I Wasn’t Made For These Times- Hugh Masekela
Into Each Rain- Smokey Robinson
Love Is Just A Four- Letter Word- Joan Baez w/ Earl Scruggs
No Man Is An Island- Fred Waring & His Pennsylvanians
People Will Day We’re In Love- Ray Charles & Betty Carter
Snow Job- Rod McKuen
Summer Scene- Frankie Avalon
Tell It Like It Is- Neville Bros. (live at Tipitina’s)
The Lord Knows I’m Drinking- O.B. McClinton
Angelitos Negros- Lola Flores
Big Rock Candy Mountain- Gordon and Lee
Draft Morning- The Chills
The Swimmer (excerpt)- John Cheever
Who’s Gonna Mow Your Grass- Buck Owens (live in London)

May 20th, An Afternoon Spent

Leave a Reply

